National bodies in Ireland

The National bodies in Ireland are those groups who have the power give you a qualification in order to recognize your learning. There are a many national awarding bodies in Ireland that have their awards included in the Framework.

State Examinations Commission (SEC)

The main function of the State Examinations Commission is the assessment, accreditation, development and certification of the second-level examinations of the Irish state, i.e. the Leaving Certificate and the Junior Certificate. The State Examinations Commission or SEC is a non-departmental public body under the aegis of the Department of Education and Skills in Ireland.

Further Education and Training Awards Council

The Further Education and Training Award Council (FETAC) was functioning as the national awarding body for further education and training in Ireland. The awards by FETAC were included in the Framework from Levels 1 to 6. The FETAC awards are now made by Quality and Qualifications Ireland (QQI).

Higher Education and Training Awards Council

It was a national awarding body for higher education and training.  The awards by the Higher Education and Training Awards Council are included in the Framework from levels 6 to 10. The HETAC awards are now made by Quality and Qualifications Ireland (QQI).

Institutes of Technology

Institutes of Technology Ireland or IOTI is the representative body for all the thirteen of Ireland’s Institutes of Technology, that are recognized as a major success story in Irish education. The Institutes of Technology operates as a unique system in which they allow students to progress from their two year (associate degree programmes) through a primary degree to the Masters and then a PhD. The Institutes of Technology in Ireland make their own awards at specified levels under delegated authority from HETAC.

Dublin Institute of Technology

The Dublin Institute of Technology (DTI) in Ireland is playing a pioneer technological higher education over 125 years. It plays an important role in scientific and technical innovation, social and economic development and education and culture both in Ireland and internationally. The DIT provides awards for the students on merit basis which are all included in the Framework from levels 6-10.


There are eight universities in Ireland; which includes,
National University of Ireland, Maynooth; Dublin City University (DCU); Galway (NUIG); National University of Ireland; University College Cork (UCC); Trinity College Dublin (TCD); University of Limerick (UL); University College Dublin (UCD).

The National University of Ireland (NUI) also makes awards directly to few colleges that the university recognizes. The colleges include the Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland (RCSI); the Institute of Public Administration (IPA); the Shannon College of Hotel Management and the National College of Art and Design (NCAD); Milltown Institute.
Connect me with the Top Colleges
First Name:
Last Name:
E-Mail ID :
You live in:
Mobile Number:
You want to study in:
Highest Level of Education:
Study Preference:
You want to Study:
Need an education loan?
loading Processing...
  • No Press Releases to display

More »


Ireland Select a Country

Our Network :